Happy Birthday!

Ribbet collagemom          226337_425547067497410_606239329_n                                                                 10393960_803618729690240_5142043483380590162_n

I feel today, and every other day, people should shout a blessing because this woman is around. She is beautiful, hard working, caring, supportive, and so much more; she is truly everything I hope to be!  This woman is by far the best leader I have ever met; she is always there for others to help motivate towards pursuing a dream.  She is the guidance counselor of a high school and I have seen students from other schools come to her for help, and of course she helps in any way that she can.  I have known this woman for 21 years and I wouldn’t trade a second of our time together.  This woman is my mother, Mrs. Corbett, as many know her.  I do not know what I would do without my mom; she has been there for me from day one and I know she will continue to do so in the future.

When people ask who a role model is most reply with someone famous, I reply with a grin of pride and say it’s my mother! It brightens my day when someone shares a memory they have of my mom: whether it be her being the reason for a student receiving Saturday school, how she inspired a student to do something with his/her life, how she took a student under her wing, how you can hear her coming down the hall because of her heels, etc. these stories make me realize how blessed I am to be able and say “that’s my mom”.

While I know you don’t like attention on your birthday, I wanted to take a moment to wish you a very Happy Birthday anyway! Thank you for everything you have done for me over the years, I couldn’t have made it without you.  Just remember, the whole state celebrates your birthday as basketball can officially begin 😉

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

