A Fair is a Place Where you Ride Rides and eat Cotton Candy

If I had a dime for every time I heard, “Life’s not fair; a fair is a place where you ride rides and eat cotton candy,” I would be rich.  I’m sure everyone has had an experience leaving them feeling something wasn’t fair.  Recently, I have been faced with a situation leaving me questioning how things are so unfair; I have found a large group being punished for the actions of one person.

Everyone being punished for the actions of a select few is a situation that happens constantly.  It can happen in a classroom, at your job, in a hotel, at a business, in a living environment, and so forth.  While I understand getting to the “truth” is important, is it really fair to punish a group?  You know what I’m talking about, for example, class acts up for a substitute and the next day the entire class (including students not present) are punished.

While this punishment does show that actions have consequences, however, I don’t agree with it.  I feel to prove the point only the ones who created the problem should be “punished.”  If the antagonist is unknown, there shouldn’t be a punishment as it’s difficult to assure the right person is being punished.

I have realized that this form of punishment does teach that actions affect everyone around you, however,mI do not agree with it.  We can all take a step in helping someone’s life be a little more fair; stop punishing everyone around for the actions of a select few.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

