Be Who You Want To Be

If there is one thing I love about internet, it’s that I have the ability to keep up with the most recent “Trending” topics.  Throughout the day, I am constantly watching the trending topics on both Facebook and Twitter.  On November 19, I found that none other than Barbie was trending; being a huge Barbie girl growing up I wanted to see what the deal was.  I skimmed through various things when I noticed they all had two words in common, “Normal Barbie.”

Barbie was manufactured by Mattel, Inc. and launched in 1959.  Many young girls grew up with Barbie, myself included.  Barbie was originally a teen model, but as years passed she had countless careers (over 150).  With the countless outfits, accessories, homes, forms of transportation, etc. Barbie had the ability to be whatever you desired her to be.  Barbie also came with slogans to inspire young girls, “We girls can do anything.” “The fate of the world is in the hands of daone beautiful girl.” “Be who you want to be.”

Barbie

I was the girl that had more Barbie’s than she knew what to do with.  The girl who received countless Barbie’s for any occasion, because she was obsessed.  I will admit I may have had too many Barbie’s but as it turned out they all served for a purpose.  When I was younger and playing with my Barbie, I didn’t realize I was also learning a valuable lesson every female should learn.  As I changed her outfits, switched forms of transportation, alternated her accessories, sent her on various excursion , and even changed careers I was learning that anything is possible.  To me Barbie wasn’t just a blonde or brunette doll that I wanted to look like, but she was a doll I wanted to be like.  Barbie stands for a strong meaning, not to make girls that don’t look like her feel ugly.  From experience, girls do want to be like Barbie but not look wise, they want to be the girl that can do anything she wants to do.  My parents’ taught me that beauty lies within the eyes of the beholder therefore, I never wished I could be as skinny or as pretty as Barbie.
829420150_1371948989 2012-brunette-holiday-barbie

So what exactly is this “Normal Barbie?”  The new Barbie is a brunette doll with movable elbows, hands, knees, and feet that has the average body proportions of a 19-year old female based on data from Centers for Disease Control and Prevention The “Normal Barbie” has a sticker-extension pack that includes cellulite, stretch marks, freckles, acne, glasses, tattoos, scratches, moles, bruises, dirt stains, etc.
Untitled

635519888203842496-grass-stains635519888236643152-temporary-tattoo-1

I’m not saying that the “Normal Barbie” is a bad thing, but when did Barbie’s looks become the huge factor.  The original Barbie showed girls that anything is possible, to me this “Normal Barbie” is showing young girls that looks are what will get you through.  Society today puts the main focus on looks when truth is, looks can only get you so far.  As for Barbie, stop focusing on her looks and realize what she really stands for.

Sources
http://www.barbiemedia.com/about-barbie/careers.html
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/body-measurements.
http://www.twitter.com

Leave a Reply

